I sent an email to my boss this morning

Posted: August 30, 2010 in True Story

Saturday you asked me if things with me were going ok. I lied and said that yes, things were fine partly because I didn’t want you worrying about me and my stupidity while you were in Baltimore and partly because I have a hard time telling you when I’ve been a complete idiot. You’ve put an incredible amount of trust in me and I don’t want to do anything to make you think you’ve made the wrong decision.

The past few months have been a little rough on me. I tell everyone how easy this breakup has been and how it hasn’t really affected me at all but to tell the truth its kind of felt like someone died. I’ve been dwelling on that a bit too much and ignoring everything unless it directly involves Richmond Comix. And that is where my stupidity comes in.

Because of my persistant memory issues the very nice lady at my insurance company always calls be about a week before my car insurance is due to remind me to pay it. When I got my new phone number in May I didn’t think about giving her the new number. I think you can see where this is going.

Friday night I got pulled over leaving the shop because my brake lights were stuck on. The officer informed me that my license had been suspended due to lack of insurance. He did not give me a ticket as DMV had never informed me of the suspension (I also never saw anything from my insurance company) and he told me as long as I could get someone to come get us he wouldn’t tow the van either. I called Ian and we parked the van behind the shop and took Jess home. Ian spent the night at my house and took me to work on Saturday. He also brought Jess in on Sunday. He then picked Amy up on Sunday and brought her to the shop so she could drive the van (and Jess) home. I asked Jess not to say anything to you so that I could tell you.

I am now working on getting the insurance and license fixed but it might take a couple of weeks. I have things worked out so that I can get to work so that is not a concern. I am going to inconvenience a few people but I will be able to meet all my responsibilities.

I can’t even tell you how sorry (and embarassed) I am about this. I know you have a lot on your plate right now and the last thing you need to do is worry about my stuff. I will have it taken care of as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

