Peoples Choice Award Nomination Station

Posted: October 20, 2009 in Non Fiction, Random

So the nomination process has begun for the People’s Choice Awards. For years this was the only awards show I really paid any attention to as it was the only one the fans had any control over. I’ve never taken an active role in the process though. I was always content to sit back and agree or disagree with the pretty people on my television. This year I am going to get more involved in the shallow end of the “community” pool and take a little time to be shallow. Who is coming with? Below I’ll list the people I nominated and why. Unless I don’t have a reason why and then I will hopefully say something snarky and get a cheap laugh. Cheap laughs are almost as good as a cheap pop at the pro wrestling show. ISN’T THAT RIGHT RICHMOND! (see, naming the town you are currently in usually gets you a cheap pop) SCIENCE!

The site says you can vote for up to five but I think I’ll keep it at three unless there are a lot of people worth talking about in a category. Or Kristen Bell. I plan to vote for her in every category. I miss you Veronica Mars!

Favorite Movie:

Action Star
Christian Bale – Yes his voice was annoying as hell in Dark Knight but otherwise he was kick ass awesome.
Liam Neeson – If you saw taken you understand this. If you didn’t go do so now. If I’m ever a kidnapped teenage girl send Liam to save me. He’s good at it.
Vin Diesel – He’s just so pretty.

Breakout Movie Star
Ed Helms – I’ve been a fan of Mr Helms since his work on the Daily Show. He’s got this ability to make himself look like the dumbest person in the world and you can’t help but love him for it.
Zach Galifianakis – I first noticed this tiny hair man on the short lived FOX series Tru Calling. He was just the nerdy straight man who helped Eliza Dushku change her pants. Or something like that. He’s funny in a surprising way. Sometimes when he says things I think “I shouldn’t laugh at that” but I do anyway.

Breakout Movie Actress
Carey Mulligan – I didn’t see Public Enemies but she was brilliant in the episode of Doctor Who she did. My son says its the creepiest episode of anything he’s ever seen.
Gennifer Goodwin – She’s the cute wife on Big Love and she does voices for Robot Chiken.
Rashida Jones – The clear winner here. Her work on the Office and Parks & Rec were great but her body of work is pretty impressive too. She’s been on Freaks and Geeks… actually that’s all I can remember. I really like her though. I hope she wins.

Comedic Star
I wrote in David Tennant. Nothing has made me laugh more than Doctor Who lately. His timing is just perfect.

Comedy Movie
Of the movies listed the Hangover was the only one I had seen. I did toss a vote for Zombieland because I know I will love it when I see it based on friends.

Family Movie
Coraline – Smart and gorgeous.
Up – Smart and sad and gorgeous.
Where The Wild Things Are – Smart and furry and gorgeous.

Franchise
Harry Potter – I love young wizards and witches. The books are a magical story about growing up and becoming a hero and the movies are almost as good.
Transformers – This is my childhood nostalgia overloading my good sense. I don’t care how many plot holes or impossible physics or cheesy dialog there is. Optimus Prime in on the big screen! Nerdgasm!
X-Men – Much like the Bond films, switching up actors and putting out a new flick every five years or so would be ideal. There are SO many stories they could tell. I hope they don’t limit themselves to the actors and characters they’ve already used.

Independent Movie
Sunshine Cleaning – This movie was odd and charming and really well told. I loved the characters and the cast equally.
Taken – See Liam Neeson above. This movie was just flat out GOOD. The scene where he’s on the phone explaining calmly to his daughter that is IS about to be kidnapped is a powerful piece of acting.

Favorite Movie
The Hangover – No other movie made me laugh this hard all year.
Star Trek – This was a HUGE surprise to me. I didn’t expect to like it at all and it was one of the best films of the year.
Watchmen – I wrote this one in. I’m not 100% sure what the date cutoff is but this came out in March so I think it should still be eligible. If not that’s ok, there wasn’t anything else on the list I was all that keen on anyhow.

Movie Actor
I wasn’t sure what to do here so I just picked the three I have the most respect for. Denzel, Depp and Tom Hanks.

Movie Actress
Amy Adams – I kind of fell in love with Amy Adams in Drop Dead Gorgeous when she was the perky, kind of dim cheerleader. Her later roles have shown me how much depth she can put into a character. Sunshine Cleaning was the final piece.
Rachel McAdams – She is much funnier than people give her credit for.

On Screen Team
The Hangover – Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Zach Galifianakis & Justin Bartha
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint & Emma Watson

Favorite TV:

Competition Show
PASS

Sci/Fi Fantasy
Dollhouse – I know this will seem like an odd choice to anyone who has heard my long winded diatribes about “Rapehouse” but hear me out. I trust Joss Whedon. I trust that he has a plan to make the awful concept worth watching and I suppose I will keep watching until that happens.
Heroes – I still love it I don’t care what anyone says. Since they kicked Jeph Loeb out of the writers room the show has returned to the awesomeness that it had in the first season.
Supernatural
Rarely has a show, especially a genre show, gotten better the longer it goes on but Supernatural has done that. Every season the danger is bigger and the stories more epic. I can’t wait to see what they do this year.

Comedy Series
Chuck – Is this comedy? NAY! It is action, drama, thriller, comedy and commercial all in one. Never has a show had so many product placements and never have I noticed less. This show is about MY people. The nerds and the geeks and those of us who wish we could become something bigger. Also, killer soundtrack.
The Office – The only show on TV (not animated) that makes me wince while I laugh.

TV Comedy Actor
Neil Patrick Harris – Getting rid of that child star stigma is nearly impossible to do but NPH managed to do it. People still call him Doogie but in a loving way.
Steve Carell – Since his time on the Daily Show I have loved his approach to comedy. He’s got a dry with and an uncanny ability to play clueless.
Zachary Levi – Possibly the most Jewish name in all of Hollywood right now. Plus he’s CHUCK!

TV Comedy Actress
Alyson Hannigan – My love for all things joss runs deep but I didn’t even need him to become enamored with the saucy redhead. She’s always had great comedic timing even when she was evil Willow but she really shines on HIMYM.
Tona Fey – One of the smartest writers in comedy right now.

TV Drama
24 – I only voted for this because it was the ONLY show on the list I actually watch and it should be in the sci/fi category. The situations are complete nonsense but I love seeing what kind of shenanigans Jack will be up to every week.

Drama Actor
How come all the “drama” actors are from genre shows? That’s odd.
Jeffery Donovan – Watch Burn Notice. Its fantastic!
Joshua Jackson
Zachary Quinto

Drama Actress
HOW IS ANNA PAQUIN ON THIS LIST? She’s the second worst actor on that show (a distant second behind the guy who plays Bill). So to be fair, maybe its not her fault. Her scenes with the other actors seem to be ok but the heavy emotional stuff with her “boyfriend” comes across like an elementary school version of Les Miserabe.

TV Obsession
Ok, this is a weird ass category. It does make me miss Buffy though.

TV Talk Show
The Daily Show – I don’t need to explain this do I?

Favorite Music:

Breakout Artist
I’ve been listening to so much British pop/punk from the 70’s this year I’ve kind of ignored new music. I refuse to vote for Lady Ga Ga and she’s the only person I recognize so I’ll pass on this category.

Collaboration
The only one of these I’ve heard is the “On a Boat” song and I cannot in good conscience vote for that.

Country Artist
I guess Johnny Cash is out huh?
I wrote in Dixie Chicks. They are about the only modern country I can listen to.

Female Artist
I went with Alicia Keys due to a lack of options.

Hip Hop Artist
Beastie Boys
Eminem

Male Artist
Pop Artist
R&B Artist

None of these really stood out to me. Am I becoming one of those old people who can’t get into the “new” music or are they just giving me really crappy choices?

Rock Band
Now see, this category has music I’m familiar with.
Foo Fighters – I wrote them in because I think they are the best American rock band of the last 15 years or so.
Green Day – Consistently one of my favorite bands since I picked up their first album in high school.
Kings of Leon – This guys voice cracks my soul. One of the best bands of the last few years.

If you would like to vote head over to http://www.peopleschoice.com/pca/ and follow the links. You don’t have to sign up to vote.

Comments
  1. nalani says:

    Hi,

    My name is Nalani and I am part of a brand new internet magazine called http://www.watchurmouth.com. We are currently looking for writers in our music section and I came across your blog. And LOVED IT!!! I think that you would be a wonderful addition to our team. Please take some time and visit our site, http://www.watchurmouth.com. If you are interested please email me at nalaniclk@yahoo.com.

    Hope to hear from you!

    Nalani
    http://www.watchurmouth.com
    Co-owner

Leave a Reply

