Your mom goes to college

Posted: October 14, 2009 in Random

I spent my evening with some college age friends playing Magic the Gathering in their dorm room. We had a good time as we always do but when I left I was seized with this overwhelming sense of melancholy. We sat in their closet sized room full to the brim with bunk beds, desks and a folding card table to play and all night people just popped in to say hi or ask questions or to take orders for some college related item or other. When I headed home I walked across campus to my car and realized just what an incredible experience I missed out on by not going to college. I’m 35 years old and if given a chance I think I would move into a dorm room and spend the next four years discussing existentialism with a bunch of intellectual posers and have a blast doing it. When I was a kid I identified with people who were older than me. At 12 I spent as much time as I could around people who were in their early twenties. It seems that is the age I am most comfortable with as I find myself doing it yet again.

I went over to my friend Jess’ house today so we could do some writing and talk to each other about our plans for NaNoWriMo. We got almost nothing accomplished as we chatted happily like two old ladies on a stoop. I have a really hard time keeping my focus and I think Jess does too. Luckily we seem to really get each others work and can take criticism from the other without getting angry. It’s nice to have at least one friend who I can share my writing with who won’t either trash it completely or say “I like it” and leave it at that.

I have a press release that I was supposed to write last week and send out. We are having a charity Magic tournament in November to benefit the Massey Cancer Center at MCV in the name of one of our players who we lost last year. I didn’t really know him but those who did absolutely loved the guy. I’m having a hard time coming up with the right mix of proper empathy and PT Barnumesque shilling for the event. I hope to have it written tomorrow.

The Magic event is going to happen in conjunction with the first two day VA Comicon in 25 years. I’ve been talking about this show with a lot of people and the general feeling is that it will fail pretty spectacularly. I am keeping a good thought in the hopes that we get more big shows here in town. Jess and I were discussing that Richmond could host a Dragon Con type convention and make a pretty decent showing of it. I’ve been talking to my boss about it and the desire to try it out is there. Now I just have to convince people with money to back the thing. More on that at a later date.

Leave a Reply

